Rishikesh: The place that talks to me!!!

Image

Many times in life, you feel a little out of place and need a boost to bring your life back on track. I go through such phases too, and mostly, they are for “no reason” and I just need to spend some time with myself. I was going through the downs of life, and that’s when Mr. Husband offered to take me to Rishikesh. There was something in the air that made me smile. And then the moment I dipped my toes in the chilly waters of the Holy Ganga (The Ganges), it felt magical. And then the dip into the mighty river, I felt my troubles are all washed away and I was alive again. That was my first visit to Rishikesh, 4 years back.

Since then, we have visited Rishikesh every year. My friends often ask me why I visit that place every year and not go to some other place? Maybe it’s because, I feel Rishikesh is my home and you don’t mind visiting home often, do you? There are people who stay in Rishikesh for months, while others end up being there often. I belong to the second category.

As per wiki, “Rishikesh is a city, municipal board and a tehsil in Dehradun district of the Indian state, Uttarakhand. Located in the foothills of the Himalayas in northern India, it is known as The Gateway to the Garhwal Himalayas.”

The best thing that I like about Rishikesh is the relaxed life I live there, the proximity to nature and the fresh mountain air. There is something in the air out there. Watching the Ganga Aarti is a dream come true. I can’t even tell you how beautiful the reflection of the lamps in the water looks, accompanied by the Classical Spiritual music. I am not a religious fellow, but I love moments that make you acknowledge the power that has been packed within you.

Image

                                                                  “The beautiful sunset”

While in Rishikesh, I love to spend hours sitting on the beach doing what I always love- Clicking Photographs, lying in the cafes with the view of the river and with some soft pious music playing from beyond, watch the sun go down, eating the beautifully presented food and savoring  the fresh fruit juices. How can I forget the shopping activities? I have always loved the flowing skirts and the colorful kurtis sold there. The best buys from Rishikesh include flowing clothes, devotional music, semi-precious gemstone jewelry, accessories and books. Also, though it’s a common thing out there, I always buy fish-food from the boys selling them and pass it to the fishes. The moment the food touches the water, you can see several fishes jumping out of nowhere to eat it. Such a moment!

Rishikesh is also famous for its adventurous events like river rafting, trekking, bungee jumping, cliff jumping etc. You would find many youngsters driving from the vicinity to Rishikesh during the on-season, to take a break from the fast forward stressful life of the cities.

I can go on and on about Rishikesh, but I think it would be best if I stop now and show you some pictures that I have collected over the years. Hope you like them all.

Image

                                      “The white sand beach-That’s where I am usually found”

Image

                                                                                            “The view”

Image

                                                     “Colors are a bit more colorful in Rishikesh”

Image

                                                  “The final rays of the sun lighting up the atmosphere”

Image

                                           “My T-shirt needs some tan too 😛 “

Image

                                                   “Time for the HOOO-HAAA-HOOOO-HAAAA”

Image

                                                                     “Lost in nothingness”

Image

                                                                                      “I will…SOON”

Such is my love for Rishikesh that I end up imagining the white sand beach filled with the sound of the river, whenever I need peace. I close my eyes and my wonderful memories of that divine place take me there.

Love,

Shanta

Published by Shanta TS

A free spirit with a camera and stories to tell.

14 thoughts on “Rishikesh: The place that talks to me!!!

  1. Amazing!!! Never felt more better before reading this… Although am very near to the place but never got a chance to explore so deeply… Thank you Shanta!!!! You are awesome 🙂

    Like

  2. Rishikesh is amazing! I stayed there for a month. Did you swim in the Ganges? Lovely post, lovely pictures.

    Like

  3. I am so glad you loved Rishikesh. I can’t swim, but I cannot stop myself from taking the dips whenever I am beside the Ganges. I visit this place frequently, there’s something about this place that draws me this often. I hope you had an amazing stay.
    Thank you for your kind words and for visiting my page 🙂 Keep travelling 🙂 🙂

    Like

  4. Yep, it definitely has some kind of magnetism to it. Swimming in the ice cold aqua marine Ganges is one of my life’s highlights, for sure. Much love.

    Like

Leave your note here :